theTrendery

SATC 2

First things first. No, I haven’t seen the movie. Tomorrow is the release day in France and yes I am completely jealous of all the Americans out there who have seen it over Memorial Day weekend.

What I am a bit surprised about though, is that aside from the Decades Two windows in LA, I haven’t really heard about any major retailers taking on Sex and the City as an inspiration point for merchandising or displays. (Correct me if I’m wrong).


Decadestwo featuring a Sonia Rykiel dress and costume jewelry

Why other retailers haven’t picked up on this is beyond me. I hear that Ebay in the UK is experiencing a huge surge in all SATC related merchandise – you know, Manolo Blahnik shoes, Carrie-esque tutus and turbans as worn in the new SATC 2 movie. A recent search on Ebay in the US yielded over 1,000 items in clothing, shoes and accessories with Sex and the City in the title. Granted, the results aren’t all Pat Field approved but anything SATC related is seemingly a big deal with the new movie release.

I remember living in NY when SATC was a hit TV series, and damn, I should have bought one of those “I’m A Samantha” tee shirts at Bloomingdales back then. The thing that is so great about SATC is that there are 4 women to identify with and the style of each one resonates with a lot of fans out there. Each one’s style is so well cultivated – even years after the TV series and with the onset of 2 movies – that we all still relate to one of them (even though that one may have changed over the years). At the very least, I would have liked to see a department store in NY do a fun window display with current merchandise set to each character. There is no doubt in my mind that at any given store, there’s a touch of Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda hanging on the racks right now!

This entry was published on June 1, 2010 at 7:49 PM and is filed under Celebrities/Models, Film, Retail. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

